| Comments |
| I am interested to participate in the conference. I have submitted the abstarct and Bio Datas |
|
|
I have got a similar mail, So this mail is a spam? There is no such conference being held! But they have a website dedicated to their name. I am rather confused. If anyone can guide me what to do?
Thanks
Shalini |
|
|
Any one can give information either there is conference or not. They noted someperson that they granted lumsome money to Join conference but but there is strong criteria that you have to reserve place in 5 star hotel before go to join confence.
I am also rather confused, please give anyone guide what to do? |
|
|
| What is it i am seeing and reading? So there is no conference on climate change! I am ready to give information to the UK authority concerning these to curb if it is true that this is a spam because i am a victim. Baraka |
|
|
Dear All
Please confirm whether the CCWG conference as above is true or not. please if fake give me a intimation |
|
|
Dear colleagues,
I think we can assume this is to be a huge scam and we should organize to get our money back.
I was already a bit surprised by the fact that the Island Garden Hotel didn't accept credit card payments and insisted that I send the costs for the stay in advance by Western Union to a certain Kenneth Savas. I did this along with sending my conference paper and then I got this highly suspicious email from the CCGW organisers insisting on a "Mandatory Refundable Security Deposit of £ 500.00 imposed per delegation attending the Energy and Climate Change Conference."
The justification for this which sounds outright racist made me suspicious: "The deposit is also meant to discourage delegates from absconding as soon as they secure visa to attend our CCWG 2011 events.In the last CCWG 2010 event, some delegates mainly from Sub-Shara Africa and South East Asia were no where to be found as soon as they got visa to attend our conference.This time around we are not taking things for granted."
I then called the phone numbers of Dr. Louis Clarke and I got this automated voice from British Telecom, that, due to a breach of regulations the number has been terminated as it was directing the calls to a number outside of the UK. The Island Garden Hotel phone numbers just get redirected to somewhere but no one answers.
I then checked the London Yellow Pages and there is no Island Garden Hotel. Look up the address of 22 Brook Street, Mayfair on Google Streetview yourselves: No Hotel.
I strongly discourage anyone from making any advance payments as I stupidly did.
I am angry but then, the pressure of the deadline actually made me churn out a paper which I would otherwise not have written this fast... still, I believe we should organize to do something about this mean and criminal fraud. Louis and Kenneth or whoever is behind this have not been targeting people with money here but organisations from developing countries
For reasons of personal security I have not put my name onto this public forum but you can get in touch by writing to me at the email provided. This forum could also serve as an organizing space.
best wishes,
A very frustrated scientist |
|
|
| This is absolute vague. If I had an opportunity, i would catch them and bring them to face against court. Becuase this a group of inteligent people who does not invest their brain into the work rather used to exploit people. I doubt this website and conference when I read that they will pay for every delegates visa fee, per diem and travel cost. The phone number assigned to those perssons correspond to the la vagas city in USA. Shame and we say there is terorist, they are more than that |
|
|
| Thank you very much for the information. I am supposed to pay for the conference. This is one of my dreams to attend conference in the international arena for free but get frustrated with this scam... How I wish in the future my wish will come true... Do you have any websites to help me for my attendance in the international conference. Im happy if you can send it to badboybusinez@yahoo.com. Thanks |
|
|
The very fact that they are paying your air ticket, Visa and even perdiem should have raised the eyebrows.
Where in the hell are they going to get funds to support a whole group of delegates, no matter who. Moreover, Visa generally remain an individual's responsibility. Organizers can isseue an invitation, but none can apply visa on your behalf.
Secondly, these submission of abstract is subject to you having registered first, have made hotel bookings and have paid for the hotel.
Thirdly, there is a Str500/= security deposit.
In the email to me, the dead line for abstract submission is 22 February 2011, acceptance is March 01, 2011, and the Conference stars on 8th March. No International Conference of some credibility can work on such a tight schedule. You need at least 2 weeks only to process your visa.
All these point to a very obvious scam and fraud.
To think of it, PKJ |
|
|
Dear Colleagues,
I am greatly distressed over the outcome of this matter regarding the Conference on climate change scheduled for London, Island garden Hotel. Late last week I paid a total sum of 936 pounds in respect of advance deposit (500 pounds) and hotel booking (436 pounds). Later more monies were asked of me and I began to suspect that something was amiss. I have cancelled my travel and participation. However how can I get my monies refunded to me by the conference organisers. Has anyone made some progress in getting a refund. If so, KIndly but urgently contact me on the following address - tel no. 254(0) 722 481 787 or email mkilavi@meteo.go.ke |
|
|
| i have recently received a mail regarding the same conference to be held in March and get the bookings to be done at Hilton hotel in UK. Please clarify if its scam again. |
|
|
| i am from china thanks all of your comment, i was almost believe that, it's hard to imagine there is such a liar in london. thank god, thank you all. |
|
|
| www.ccwg11.org the web was reg at 1/19/2011 |
|
|
the liar was from Nigeria
i have had his IP: [82.128.88.170] Date: Sat, 12 Feb 2011 11:17:36 +0000
if you had gave money to him, you can contact Nigeria policestation or call the Embassy of your country in Nigeria .
if you want more information you can contact me, my email is :jacksonlincoln@hotmail.com from china(P.R.C.) |
|
|
| Oh, my God! I really learn a lot! |
|
|
| what about ECCC 2011 duirng 25-29 march the scam has not stopped ? |
|
|
THIS has to stop.
they are sending these emails to academic institutions too look legit.
this website http://www.eccc11.org/venue.htm must be BANNED! They don't even have photos of previous conferences etc. |
|
|
To all...
I paid the money too. This time they do it through www.ccvg11.org. How to get the money back? This time they are telling about mayfair garden hotel.
Site is still working. Means the culprit are still active. We should punish them.
Please post your comments. |
|
|
I have just lost 306 pounds to these liars (4th March 2011). Can you imagine!!. I just saw these comments after sending the money for the hotel and they were asking for the 500 pounds security deposit, then i realised i was dealing with wrong people. They are using Island Garden Hotel in Myfair London. They are calling it Energy and climate change conference 2011 and using Dr. Richard Edward as the conference chair. Some body by the names of Mr. Kenneth Savas was supposed to pick the money from the Western Union. People from web Intelligence should help us recover our hard earned money that we have lost in addition to the time lost in preparing papers and presentations.
Frustrated scientist from Uganda. |
|
|
| One is having account holder in imphal, india. |
|
|